Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Official developper activation with 2.0 Beta 5

Default Official developper activation with 2.0 Beta 5
    Hi there,

I have an iPhone with a non-official SIM card in it. I recently purchased the iPhone developer program (certs, provisioning, etc.), and I'm running into trouble to "activate" my iPhone during the restoration process of beta 5 (5a274d). I have the certs installed and the provision profile installed too. I was on 1.1.4 (but I also tried with 2.0 beta 3 with PwnageTool) and directly proceeded into the steps describle on Apple's iPhone developer documentation (Restore with XCode, activate with iTunes).

Now my question is simple, I get the "purple screen of death" and iTunes pops-up with this error message when activating the iPhone: "The SIM card inserted in this iPhone does not appear to be supported". I am a legit developer but not having a "valid" SIM card to activate. I heard people saying you don't need it, and that the system ID (40 bytes hexadecimal) should be OK to activate. This is not the case. Is it possible to activate the phone without a legit SIM card ?

BTW, while restoring I see the baseband being flashed, so the activation just "goes away" I think... Maybe putting the offical baseband and activate it with Ziphone would help ?

I would really appreciate some help/feedback of some other developers in my situation.

Thanks in advance !

Unhappy The one solution that you won't like ...
    Hi. I'm glad to at least hear from someone having the exact same problem I have. I have registered and payed for the iPhone Developer program. And I have been accepted!

I bought a clean iPhone, installed the latest Xcode iPhone SDK and downloaded the latest iPhone OS 2.0 (beta 5).

Registered the iPhone and installed according to instructions.

All this has gotten me is a Pink Screen Of Death. I cant even RESTORE back to 1.1.4, much less do any development on the phone.