+ Reply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Legality of a forced data plan

is a discussion within the

AT&T

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
So I'm no lawyer, but how legal is it for AT&T to force me to have a data plan when I have no data coverage no where near me (closest
    Thanks

Default Legality of a forced data plan
    So I'm no lawyer, but how legal is it for AT&T to force me to have a data plan when I have no data coverage no where near me (closest place with any AT&T or AT&T partner data coverage is over 300 miles away!)

I know many will say "what good is an iPhone with no data plan?" but in my case it is very good. My city has city-wide WiFi (which is really fast and free) and I have a VoIP account that I use both at home and on my iPhone while I'm out.

What do you think? Can AT&T charge me for data service when they can't provide me with said data service?
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Legality of a forced data plan-capture.jpg  
    ===========================================

DFU Restore Mode - Quick How-To:
    1. Power phone OFF.
    2. Hold power + home for 10 seconds.
    3. Let go of power and continue to hold home until iTunes finds the phone.

Super Sweet Moderator thetoothfairy's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,003 Times in 565 Posts

You knew their data plans when you bought the phone so I would think that there is nothing you can do about it. Its just like some people getting 3G and some are not. Just because some are not doesn't mean they get a cheaper bill...

I would suggest calling them and explaining what is going on and maybe they will be kind enough to give you a discount on your monthly bill...

"Always remember your special and unique!"

iPhone? More like MyPhone theguyz's Avatar
    Thanks

The phone is subsidised and they make $ off the contractually agreement and terms to pay for the phone.