+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone 1st gen + At&t simcard - data plan activation $$$ = ?

is a discussion within the

AT&T

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hi. Newbie here. I just got a used iPhone from a friend who just bought the iPhone 3G. I am a current At&t subscriber for almost 2 years and I
    Green Apple
    Thanks

Exclamation iPhone 1st gen + At&t simcard - data plan activation $$$ = ?
    Hi. Newbie here.

I just got a used iPhone from a friend who just bought the iPhone 3G.
    I am a current At&t subscriber for almost 2 years and I wanted to use the phone without the additional cost for data.
    I know it sounds ridiculous but I'm just a student, unemployed and cutting cost.
    I have unlimited text message and about 1500 minutes.

I think I might have heard about jailbreaking/unlocking iPhone from another friend who bought one on ebay.
    Basically told me that all he did was insert the Tmobile sim and used the phone without additional cost.
    He can surf the safari and just had the iPhone working perfectly.
    I am wondering if that is possible on me.

I looked around here and I am so lost I decided to start a thread.
    I am using my Windows Vista 32 bit laptop (because my XP desktop wont recognize the phone)
    I plugged the iPhone and Itunes it says...

Capacity: 7.08 GB
    Software Version: 2.0

Thanks for your advice!!!

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

I have the same predicament...did you get any response / any luck? Thanks

plain jane vanilla (post count restored to FULL AWESOMENESS) cpjr's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,461 Times in 1,264 Posts

Not with AT&T, you can place your old sim in the iphone and probably get away with it for a bit....but AT&T will notice your using an iphone (it is all broadcasted over the network) and make you add the "data" plan.