Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone Noob in need of some help / advice!

Default iPhone Noob in need of some help / advice!
    Hello everyone, I'm a total noob with cell phones and I need some advice and any help is greatly appreciated.

Here's my situation.... I'm considering buying a used iPhone 3G I found for $80. The phone has no sim card, and other than some scuffing on the back side it's in good condition. According to the seller, it's also jailbroken (whatever that means). What I want to do is buy this iphone and set up a prepaid plan rather than sign a contract anywhere.

As such, I've found by searching online that my best bet is probably T-Mobile. Apparently, I should be able to walk into the T-Mobile store with my iphone 3G, set up an unlimited everything monthly prepaid plan for 50 bucks a month, get the SIM card from them that's attached to the plan, put it in my iphone and I should be good to go.

Does this sound like it'll work? What about any issues with the iphone 3G on the t-mobile network? Will the data on the plan work for the iPhone? What about updating the phone, can I do that normally once I get the plan activated? Is this the best choice for what I want to do or is there a better option for using the iphone 3G on a prepaid plan?

I've read on some forums that I might have to turn off 3G and Location Services if I have problems with connectivity to the t-mobile network, is that true? What does it mean to have those services disabled?

Thanks in advance for any and all help on this!!!

Being jailbroken does not mean it is unlocked. You will either need to research the unlock section on this forum, or ask the seller if he can do it for you, it is free so if he knows how to jailbreak he will most likely know how to unlock as well.