Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help me jailbreak/unlock my 3g correctly - the FIRST time

Default Help me jailbreak/unlock my 3g correctly - the FIRST time
    Hello. iPhone newbie here, just picked up a virgin 3g from someone off of craigslist.

Model a1241
    iPhone 3G 8GB
    never unlocked or jailbroken

And it has some OLD firmware and modem software

Version Version 2.2.1 (5H11)
    Modem Firmware 02.30.03

Can someone list the correct steps for me to take if I want to use this with my T-Mobile sim card, I have an Unlimited Voice/Text and if I can use the data part with the iPhone I will add whatever I need to, was hoping you guys could let me know what I will need to tell the customer service ppl on *611.

Thanks for the help!

Thanks

WOW. 2.2.1 is really old. You wanna update to the newest version in iTunes (4.0) and then jailbreak + unlock.

Google itunes and download the version for your OS
    Plug in your iPhone, back up your data and upgrade to firmware 4.0
    download redsn0w windows: http://sites.google.com/a/iphone-dev..._0.9.5b5-3.zip
    mac: http://sites.google.com/a/iphone-dev..._0.9.5b5-3.zip

Then download the 4.0 GM IPSW to run with redsn0w:
    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TK8ZUXHB

Run redsn0w and load the IPSW when prompted. Then follow instructions to go into DFU mode.

NOTE: after updating to 4.0, you will get a "Connect to iTunes" screen - don't freak out. The jailbreak will stop this.

After you jailbreak, go into cydia and search for ultrasn0w. That's it (you need a wifi connection though).

Let me know if you have any questions.
    Last edited by adp; 06-22-2010 at 12:22 AM.
    If I helped you out, please use the Thanks button ------------------------->

3. The Following User Says Thank You to adp For This Useful Post:

tsandershsa (06-22-2010)

Default So....