Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Newb here, currious about using a 1st gen iphone with a tmobile data plan...

Default Newb here, currious about using a 1st gen iphone with a tmobile data plan...
    so my good friend is willing to sell me one of his unlocked 1st gen iphones for like 75 bucks with the dock,cables etc.

right now i don't have any mobile service, but Ive heard and read mixed messages about if and how well tmobiles various data plans work on the iphone, im a newb here, so im really not sure how to go about this...

first is it possible? second, does it work well or is it nothing but a constant hassle? and three, if it is possible and worth doing what would be the best way to sign up/get a sim card?

i would using there monthly flexpay option along with whatever data plan was appropriate, thanks.

Coverage depends on your area. If you're on the legitimate $24.99 unlimited data or 34.99 Unlimited data/messaging you won't have any service problems outside of any odd outages.

If you don't mind paying those prices bundled with a voice plan (only way to get data with no commitment), you can go to the T-Mobile store and set everything up there.

Lovely

Not

ah ok, so that's a separate service from the web2go for 20 bucks they have?

and they will allow people to go to stores and set up service for iphones..?

If you get the more expensive plan.. if you're trying to get web2go they'll want an IMEI so they know it's a T-Mobile branded dumbphone or the Shadow (only phones allowed on web2go). They're getting stricter now.

Lovely

Not

aha i see, so only if you get the expensive plans can u just go down to a store and get yer iphone all set up. does it work well? or is it not worth doing at those prices?

It works great.. reliable. The 34.99 plan is a great value if you text and use data a lot, otherwise just getting the unlimited data and 300 messages for 4.99 is a better setup.

Lovely

Not