+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: New to theming, have some questions - Related to the Dialer app

is a discussion within the

Skinning / Themes Discussion

forums, a part of the

Design and Media For the iPhone / iPod Touch

section;
Hello everyone, I'm a designer and have recently grown pretty sick of the stock iOS UI. I've jailbroken my phone specifically to change my theme and make my phone look
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Question New to theming, have some questions - Related to the Dialer app
    Hello everyone, I'm a designer and have recently grown pretty sick of the stock iOS UI. I've jailbroken my phone specifically to change my theme and make my phone look a little more relevant to today's design standards. After some looking around I'm a bit disappointed by the existing themes. Not to knock anyone that makes themes today, but a lot of them seem very centered around older design trends and sci-fi looking fonts. I personally like a lot cleaner looks and aesthetically pleasing designs. So I thought I'd have a go at creating some stuff myself. Just for the record I'm running iOS 6.1.2 on an iPhone 5.

Since I'm sure full themes require a lot more know-how and some coding work if I want to tweak certain things, I thought I'd have a go at creating a skin for the dialer to start out and get my feet wet.

I've been trying to read through this thread to figure out where exactly I should be looking to begin learning and while there does seem to be a wealth of information available, it's not very organized. I'm sure once I know what I'm doing I'll understand the info that's in there, but right now most of it just looks like gibberish. I also tried searching the forums and all of the threads I found were from 2007/08. So I was hoping I could write here to try and get some guidance..