Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Modding with SSH

Thanks
    Default Modding with SSH
    I'm new to modmyi.com and haven't had any luck on finding a forum discussing the use of SSH to theme or mod my iPhone. If anybody could point me in the write direction it would much appreciated. Specifically, i'm currently searching for a way to give my standard 'Messaging' app a new look.

Thanks
    Thanked 6,514 Times in 2,146 Posts

Why SSH? I used to use that but I use iFunbox. IFunbox is a free program u can install on windows or Mac and it utilizes ur iPod/iPhone dock connector to move files. I find it's better than SSH as you don't require WiFi to manage your files. Just my thoughts tho
    Twitter ID: @Jato_BZ
    .artwork Assassin / Emoji Extractor

Thanks
    iFunbox? never heard of it. ill be sure to give it a look right now though. Other than the way the files are transferred is their any real difference between that and SSH?

Thanks

Well SSH is via WiFi, wifi goes down while pushing files can be trouble. I have had this issue. Plus u need to gain access to your iPhone via the IP address. If you don't change the root passwords etc that can leave your device vulnerable as by default it's "alpine". iFunbox looks and feels the same as a typical windows directory within ur comp and let's you navigate I found a lot easier than a SSH but that could have been the client I was using (fugu for Mac) but now I use iFunbox on PC - 100times better!!

Also iFunbox decrypts the png encrypting apple applies. Another benefit as all pngs are encrypted on iOS devices.
    Last edited by Jato_BZ; 09-13-2012 at 11:13 PM.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Jato_BZ For This Useful Post:

redtide (09-13-2012)

Thanks