+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: I can't get downloaded themes to work with Winterboard (I'm new at this)

is a discussion within the

Skinning / Themes Discussion

forums, a part of the

Design and Media For the iPhone / iPod Touch

section;
First of all, I'd like to apologize if you're not supposed to ask questions like this in this forum. I'm having a terrible time navigating ModMyi. Anyways, my problem: because
    Thanks
    Default I can't get downloaded themes to work with Winterboard (I'm new at this)
    First of all, I'd like to apologize if you're not supposed to ask questions like this in this forum. I'm having a terrible time navigating ModMyi.

Anyways, my problem: because browsing Cydia for themes kills me, I tried downloading Winterboard themes from this site instead and spent about an hour trying to figure out how to move them to my jailbroken iPhone 2G (i.e. the first one). I finally decided to use DiskAid, which lets me browse through the iPhone without a SSH connection.

My problem: Even after I move a ModMyi theme folder into "/private/var/stash/themes.*****", the theme doesn't work when I choose it on Winterboard. The themes that I installed on my iPhone with Cydia work fine, and as far as my mediocre computer skills can tell, they have virtually the same buildup as the themes that I installed from here. For example, these themes (from Cydia) work:

But this theme from ModMyi doesn't work for me:

I'm new at this, so what the hell am I doing wrong? I followed the guides on this site as best as I could (they weren't particularly helpful because I don't know anything about Macs or SSH). But the themes don't work - on one of them, I managed to get the background working, and that was it. Am I putting the themes in the wrong place? Is there something else that I have to do to get them to work?