Results 1 to 4 of 4

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Wiping my JB iPhone on 5.1.1

  1. #1
    Default Wiping my JB iPhone on 5.1.1
    I upgraded to the 5 and want to sell my 4S but want to wipe the contents first. I figure it would be best to keep it on 5.1.1 so I haven't wanted to use the iTunes restore. Whenever try shift restore and pointing to 5.1.1 I get an error. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    thats because Apple stopped signing 5.1.1 which is you cant do restore

    follow the instructions here:
    http://modmyi.com/forums/how-jailbre...ware-file.html

  3. #3
    I tried and still ended up with an error. Maybe I need to add some info. The first thing I tried was an erase from settings to wipe my phone. It didn't work and I've since read that you should never try that with a jailbroken iPhone. Now I get an error anytime I try to Restore, upgrade, downgrade, etc. I don't mind restoring and losing jb, but iTunes will not let me. Any help?

  4. #4
    unfortunately with a 4S, you're going to have to wait until redsn0w is updated, the stitching of the firmware is only to prepare the firmware so once redsn0w gets updated, you can restore back to 5.1.1 from 5.1.1

    until then, wait for the resn0w update

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •