Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPhone on Australia's Vodafone-no Data/edge

Question iPhone on Australia's Vodafone-no Data/edge
    Hi all
    I have unlocked my phone and it works with my Australian Vodafone account. However i only have data access via my WiFi network. I still see the "E" for edge network that i was familiar with while on AT&T but when i try to access data over the mobile phon network i get error message that i cannot activate or access the Edge network.

Can anyone help me understand what edge exactly is? is it an at&t system or a global system, and do i have a way of getting data on my vodafone account?

did you try switching your APN settings?

Quote Originally Posted by SebD View Post
    did you try switching your APN settings?
    nope i am not a developer
    can follow instructions quite well
    but dont know what apn is

If you bought your iPhone from the United States it is set to use the Cingular EDGE network. You must change those settings over the your carriers APN...

Goto -> Settings -> General -> EDGE

This is where you change those settings.

Here are a few:

http://www.modmyi.com/wiki/index.php...r_APN_Settings

5. The Following User Says Thank You to SebD For This Useful Post:

splurge (09-20-2007)

thanks
    Couldnt be clearer help..appreciate it
    Disappointingly however, i find that the list does not include settings for Vodafona australia. Would you know if this is just an omission due to lack of demand yet and maybe someone can tell me what the settings are, or if this is endemic and i need to switch my carrier to something like TELSTRA in Australia?

Regards
    Splurge

EDIT: i should have looked before i asked. With a little searching i found the settings to enable edge for iphone on Vodafone. For any other interested vodafone australia users to APN setting that has worked for me is:

go to SETTINGS>GENERAL>NETWORK>EDGE

put in:
    APN: vfinternet.au