Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: iPad Netflix app ported to iphone?

Default iPad Netflix app ported to iphone?
    Would it be possible to port the ipad netflix app to the iphone? maybe use 3g unrestricted to let it work over 3g? thoughts?
    R.I.P - 8GB iPhone - Pwnd - 1.1.4 - T-MobileUSA
    R.I.P 3G- iPhone - All sorts of H4x0r'd
    32gb 3Gs - 3.1.2 Unlocked - AT&T

MacBook (White Uni) - 2.24 - 4GB - 250GB - 10.6.4
    MacBook Pro - 2.0GHz-4GB-320GB - 10.6.1
    MacBook(Aluminum Edish)-2.4GHz-250GB - 10.5.5
    MacBook Air - 1.6 - 80GB -10.5.2 - Lovin' It
    MacBook Pro - 1.83 - 80GB - 10.4.11
    12' PowerBook G4 - 1.5 - 120GB - 10.4.11

Been Cockin' Rockin' and iPhone Unlockin' since v1.0.2.

I managed to get the iPad version installed on my 3G. I'm not a developer or really know much about coding iPhone apps so the farthest I could get was the red Netflix splash screen. After that the program would crash and go back to the springboard. I managed the install by pointing safari on my iPhone to the Netflix.IPA file on my computer (downloaded from iTunes). From there I had to use ********** to install it, but only the "dirty" method (I guess it's called "native installation" in the newest version) completed the installation.

Like I said, I'm hardly a developer when it comes to these things. I rely mostly on dumb luck when it comes to this stuff. If my little experiment helps to further the cause then it was worth it.

Default Success
    Finally managed to get Netflix working on my iPhone, It's not bug-free but it works well enough. Obviously you need a jailbroken iPhone (will try on iPod 2G later this weekend) for this to work.

1. Download the iPad netflix app from iTunes store (it's free)

2. When the download is complete, go to the folder where iTunes keeps the app files. Extract Netflix.ipa somewhere on your hard drive (I prefer the desktop since it's easily accessible). I used winrar.