Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Cydia Beginner

Default Cydia Beginner
    Hello guys, how ya doin?

Just wanna say brilliant forum, been browsing around for the past week and found loads of useful info, as I've never owned an iPhone before.

I've just got myself an iPhone 4 a week ago and I absolutely love it to bits! But I've seen a few videos on youtube of you guys running Cydia? I am a total newbie at this so i'm guessing it's a different OS? So I just have a few questions based on that if that's okay..

What is Cydia? What are the pro's and con's of Cydia? How do I get Cydia on my iPhone? Does it void the warranty if i use Cydia? Once on Cydia can you revert back to the original OS?

any information will be greatly appreciated

thanks guys!

Green Apple
    Thanks

Jailbreak is whats it called.
    Last edited by igarys; 07-30-2010 at 12:30 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by igarys View Post
    TROll
    Sorry?

My iPhone is a Part of Me Trooper Sam's Avatar
    Thanks

As of yet, there is no publically available jailbreak tool for an iPhone 4. So, sorry, you'll not be able to enjoy Cydia or Rock as of yet.

As for what Cydia is? It's at it's most basic an alternative app store. In Cydia is where you'll find the great, the good, the okay and the not-so-great apps that have been created outside of Apple's purview.

The way to get Cydia on your iPhone must begin with a jailbreak. This is mandatory, and there's no way around it. Most, if not all jailbreak tools that exist install Cydia by default.

And Cydia is NOT an alternate OS. It runs inside of your iOS, after jailbreaking.

Void your warranty? Well, yes. Jailbreaking voids your warranty, if they detect it. The jury is still out as to how good Apple is at detecting it. Which leads to...

...can you revert back? Yes. You can restore to factory defaults, and the jailbreak will be wiped away.