-
12-27-2011, 11:53 PM #1MMi Staff Writer
- Join Date
- Apr 2011
- Location
- Michigan
- Posts
- 1,104
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 72 Times in 39 Posts
Email Phishing Scam Targets AppleID Account Information

Phishing scams are nothing new to active Internet dwellers, in fact [email protected] is frequented by emails from Ukrainian girls who “want to laugh a little together.”
Ugh.
But, a new “well-crafted” phishing scam is targeting Apple users in an effort to get then to provide their AppleID billing information. Intego posted an alert earlier this week about the scam. The phishing emails originate from [email protected] and inform the recipient that their billing information is “out of date.”
The “convincing” part of the scam comes in the form of the Official Apple Online Store - Buy Mac Computers and Notebooks, iPhone, iPad, iPod, and More - Apple Store (U.S.) link that redirects the recipient to a “realistic” sign-in page, according to the report. The email uses Apple logos, the familiar grey background, font and other trademark information in an effort to dupe recipients.
This new scam follows a long lineage of Mac focused dupes including MacDefender and its “free anti-virus software” scam, the iTunes gift certificate malware scam, and the iCloud scam that targeted current MobileMe. As always double, and triple check the authenticity of any emails from unfamiliar addresses and companies.
Scammers are increasingly active over the holiday season. Make sure to check debit and credit charges regularly, check emails for authenticity, and watch your kids/roommates/siblings/people you live with. They can take your money easier than these online hacks.
Source: Intego [via AppleInsider]
-
12-28-2011, 12:28 AM #2
Wow, not even one sentence, just a title and a picture? That's rare to see here
Sent from my iPhone 4.
-
12-28-2011, 12:40 AM #3The Infamous Modder
- Join Date
- Jun 2011
- Posts
- 1,699
- Thanks
- 136
- Thanked 1,707 Times in 798 Posts
- Blog Entries
- 1
-
12-28-2011, 12:44 AM #4
-
12-28-2011, 12:46 AM #5
-
12-28-2011, 01:25 AM #6
so.. is this not the correct address for apples store? Official Apple Online Store - Buy Mac Computers and Notebooks, iPhone, iPad, iPod, and More - Apple Store (U.S.) ??
-
12-28-2011, 02:36 AM #7iPhone? More like MyPhone
- Join Date
- Jul 2007
- Location
- Seattle, WA
- Posts
- 282
- Thanks
- 2
- Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
The poster didn't mention that the link is masked. Visually it will look like an official link, but the page it will take you to is the phishing site. If you look in your address bar you will notice that it will not be an official Apple site. Very common with phishing.
-
12-28-2011, 03:16 AM #8
uhh no your correct. that links right. But in the email its not because its hyperlink code like this:
You see store.apple.com as the link, but the link is to derpyderp.com or whatever, not what its named as.Code:<a href="www.derpyderp.com">store.apple.com</a>
Also i wouldnt mind some ukrainian girls who want to laugh a little together
. If only they were legitimate.
-
12-28-2011, 03:26 AM #9
I get these all the time but they go straight in the spam folder
-
12-28-2011, 05:15 AM #10
._______.
-
12-28-2011, 05:21 AM #11
clearly if people just looked at the drop shadow they'd know that apple would never make the opacity +40%..silly rabbits..
-
12-28-2011, 08:24 AM #12MMi Staff Writer
- Join Date
- Apr 2011
- Location
- Michigan
- Posts
- 1,104
- Thanks
- 0
- Thanked 72 Times in 39 Posts
-
12-28-2011, 08:29 AM #13Livin the iPhone Life
- Join Date
- Mar 2011
- Location
- Winchester, UK
- Posts
- 1,681
- Thanks
- 1,307
- Thanked 952 Times in 523 Posts
-
12-28-2011, 09:00 AM #14iPhone? More like MyPhone
- Join Date
- Jan 2010
- Location
- Chicago, IL
- Posts
- 223
- Thanks
- 36
- Thanked 36 Times in 19 Posts
^ The opacity is actually at 56%.
-
12-28-2011, 09:36 AM #15Livin the iPhone Life
- Join Date
- Mar 2011
- Location
- Winchester, UK
- Posts
- 1,681
- Thanks
- 1,307
- Thanked 952 Times in 523 Posts
-
12-28-2011, 09:49 AM #16
The ModMyi App from the App Store only shows the picture. The article appears to be missing, but is still available using mobile Safari or a desktop PC. FYI.
Here lately, I've seen similar emails (not from Apple) that are one solid picture tagged with a link. It looks as though phishers are screenshotting the main web page or an official email, modifying it with some sort of photoshoppin' program, and linking the whole picture to whatever site.Last edited by Hillefied; 12-28-2011 at 09:56 AM.
-
12-28-2011, 10:13 AM #17
-
12-28-2011, 10:20 AM #18iPhone? More like MyPhone
- Join Date
- Jul 2007
- Location
- Seattle, WA
- Posts
- 282
- Thanks
- 2
- Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
-
12-28-2011, 10:49 AM #19
-
12-28-2011, 11:26 AM #20Livin the iPhone Life
- Join Date
- Mar 2011
- Location
- Winchester, UK
- Posts
- 1,681
- Thanks
- 1,307
- Thanked 952 Times in 523 Posts



LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote

