+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Some tips for JB 5.0.1 untethered; making the switch--iPhone 4 only!

is a discussion within the

Jailbreaking the Verizon / Sprint / CDMA iPhone

forums, a part of the

iPhone on Verizon / Sprint / CDMA

section;
    Green Apple
    Thanks

Default Some tips for JB 5.0.1 untethered; making the switch--iPhone 4 only!
    I noticed a lot of people made the switch to 5.0.1 once the untethered JB was available; very proud of ya. However, like all software, there might be some bugs in this version of the JB. I've seen a lot of people asking about how "safe" it is to JB--total NOOB question, by the way--and I thought I'd post something to give back to the very site that helped me with all my JB questions. Please see below for some trouble-shooting tips when transitioning over to UTJB (untethered jailbreak). Please see below:

My process: iPhone 4/ used redsn0w to JB.
    1. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes
    2. Make sure you have the "correct" IPSW file; 5.0.1 restore (9A405) CDMA.
    Note: a lot, and I do mean a lot, of people download the GSM file when they have a Verizon model--epic noob fail.
    3. Download the appropriate redsn0w file for mac or windows (PC blows).
    4. When preparing to Jailbreak, always put your iPhone in DFU mode--I can't stress this enough.
    5. Finished, now pat yourself in the back.

5.0/5.0.1 hybrid transition:
    I had this before the UTJB was available and ran into some issues. Please see below for some tips that helped me with Cydia, battery, and other issues. Please do so one your own risk:

1. Use the latest version of iTunes.
    2. Back all your stuff up on your mac or PC
    3. Restore through iTunes while in DFU mode; restore to clean 5.0.1. (5.0.1 from apple or modmyi should work fine)
    4. do not back up from iTunes--you should have your stuff backed-up already on your mac and pc by now--, setup as a new phone.