+ Reply
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Un-Jailbreaking the iPod Touch

is a discussion within the

iPod Touch Jailbreak / Upgrade / Downgrade / Restore

forums, a part of the

iPod Touch

section;
In a circumstance where you would need to unjailbreak you iPod, how would you wipe out all the jailbreak data from your device? as in ALL OF IT?? I found
...
  1. #1
    What's Jailbreak?
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Un-Jailbreaking the iPod Touch
    In a circumstance where you would need to unjailbreak you iPod, how would you wipe out all the jailbreak data from your device? as in ALL OF IT?? I found out that when you backup a jailbroken device, its jailbreak data is included in the backup. I don't want to start out blank again because I have game data and I don't want to lose it.

  2. #2
    The One and the Only (retired secret moderator) iPod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,127
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 94 Times in 88 Posts

    Go into Settings>General>Reset>Reset all settings. As you can see, no data or media will be erased. This has always worked for me.

    secret moderator... Please hit that THANKS button over there if I helped you in any single way

  3. #3
    What's Jailbreak?
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    does that wipe out all the jailbreak data? and when do I do that? Every time I back up my device via iCloud or after I restore it? thanks

  4. #4
    The One and the Only (retired secret moderator) iPod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,127
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 94 Times in 88 Posts

    It does as long as you restore as well
    And you do it just once.

    secret moderator... Please hit that THANKS button over there if I helped you in any single way

  5. #5
    Livin the iPhone Life R.Mortera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    No where near you
    Posts
    1,355
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 196 Times in 133 Posts

    Backing up does not collect any jailbreak data. It only collects what you need which is the apps, music, contacts etc. I would do a full back up them restore.

    Are you planning on re-jail breaking?

  6. #6
    The One and the Only (retired secret moderator) iPod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    2,127
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 94 Times in 88 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by R.Mortera View Post
    Backing up does not collect any jailbreak data. It only collects what you need which is the apps, music, contacts etc. I would do a full back up them restore.

    Are you planning on re-jail breaking?
    It does, if you, say, create a custom carrier, when you back up, It WILL save it.

    secret moderator... Please hit that THANKS button over there if I helped you in any single way

  7. #7
    Livin the iPhone Life R.Mortera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    No where near you
    Posts
    1,355
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 196 Times in 133 Posts

    Quote Originally Posted by ipodtouchman77 View Post
    It does, if you, say, create a custom carrier, when you back up, It WILL save it.
    Oh really? Never really knew that. Thanks for information.

  8. #8
    iPhone? More like MyPhone
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    163
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    yes it does backup the info, thats why "aptbackup" works (program to backup cydia apps....sort of). Itunes backs up a file with all the data of the cydia apps, then when you restore and bring all the data back, the file is there and you can bring back all the cydia apps, if that makes sense :P Anyway, can i ask why you want to "un-jailbreak"? If you are sending to apple, id say just restore and dont restore with a backed up file, when it asks about restoring with a backup, dont select one. Then when you want all the data back, do a restore again, then restore with the backed up data. Kind of a long process, but it should work.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts