Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Apple’s iPhone Unveiling Left Google Scrambling Back to the Drawing Board

Thanks

Default Apple’s iPhone Unveiling Left Google Scrambling Back to the Drawing Board

According to an excerpt from a new book named Dogfight: How Apple and Google went to war and started a revolution, the iPhone’s introduction in 2007 was not only a watershed moment for Apple but also a turning point for Google’s Android Team. According to former Apple engineering lead and early Android team member, Chris DeSalvo:

As a consumer I was blown away. I wanted one immediately. But as a Google engineer, I thought 'We're going to have to start over.
    Another Apple alumni and Android project co-founder, Andy Rubin, Steve Job’s presentation had him taken aback. He mentioned the following about the matter:

"Holy crap, I guess we're not going to ship that phone," he reportedly told a colleague, taking about Google's BlackBerry-like "Sooner" device, which was to be the first flagship Android phone.
    The Android team’s response was to refocus development on a new touch-enabled device, which would later become HTC’s T-Mobile G1 and delay their planned public launch by a year. Several features from Sooner were held over, such as the plan for the phone to have a physical keyboard, but the software was completely reworked and redesigned for a touch interface. Vogelstein’s narrative, that the Android team deliberately changed Android’s direction to mimic that of Apple’s iPhone kind of went hand to hand with Job’s stance that Android is a “stolen product.”

For those of you who don’t remember, Jobs told biographer Walter Isaacson the following:

I will spend my last dying breath if I need to, and I will spend every penny of Apple's $40 billion in the bank, to right this wrong. I'm going to destroy Android, because it's a stolen product. I'm willing to go thermonuclear war on this.