Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Howto use command line iOS tools from Xcode?

Thanks
    Default Howto use command line iOS tools from Xcode?
    I would like to create an iOS frontend for some of the (jailbreak) command line tools - wget for instance - using Xcode.

Can I run command line apps (or bash scripts) from within my app and grab the output?
    An Xcode code example would be appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by cowzkull View Post
    I would like to create an iOS frontend for some of the (jailbreak) command line tools - wget for instance - using Xcode.

Can I run command line apps (or bash scripts) from within my app and grab the output?
    An Xcode code example would be appreciated
    Hi all, hi cowzkull,

im new to Obj-C and Xcode(c#/java dev),

but anyway back to topic i am a few steps further and managed to run an "echo string" via NSTask/NMTaskWrapper, it works fine in the simulator but when i try to run it on my iPhone4 (5.1.1 JB)device the app crashes on the [task launch] command with an NSInconsistencyException.

Do i have to somehow create a new Project with a CydiaAppTemplate, f.e. project template from Theos to get this running?

Regards
    kaya

Thanks
    It might be that NSTask isn't native to the iPhone SDK... How did you manage to import it?

well for NSTask, get the NMTaskWrapper, works well if your app is like in my video tutorial.

well in my case, i need root rights for calling some commands...
    if someone knows how, please dont hesitate and post a reply :=)

5. The Following User Says Thank You to Kayhan 17# For This Useful Post:

cowzkull (08-19-2012)

Thanks
    Sorry for leaving you hanging - I was busy getting my own app ready for submission. There's still a lot of things to do but I worked out a few things - including how to run stuff as root (though the solution is far from perfect).