+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: UIAlertSheet

is a discussion within the

iPhone / iPod Touch SDK | Development Discussion

forums, a part of the

3rd Party Apps For iPhone | iPod Touch

section;
I'm a rookie on Apple products--I really wish I had known about UIAlertSheet earlier. If you aren't familiar with it, it is essentially like the iPhone version of Java Swing's
    JLA
    Developer
    Thanks

Default UIAlertSheet
    I'm a rookie on Apple products--I really wish I had known about UIAlertSheet earlier. If you aren't familiar with it, it is essentially like the iPhone version of Java Swing's JOptionPane...it can be used to display messages, to get keyboard input, etc.

Here is a simple message output dialog:
    Code:
    - (void)showMessage: (NSString*) aMessage withTitle: (NSString*) aTitle { 

[aMessage retain]; //I'm a little paranoid when it comes to memory managmenet
    	[aTitle retain];
    	UIAlertSheet * zSheet;

zSheet = [[UIAlertSheet alloc] initWithFrame:CGRectMake(0,240,320,240)];
    	[zSheet setTitle:aTitle];
    	[zSheet setBodyText: aMessage];
    	[zSheet setRunsModal: true]; //I'm a big fan of running sheet modally

[zSheet popupAlertAnimated:YES]; //Displays
                  //Pauses here until user taps the sheet closed

[zSheet autorelease];
    	[aMessage release];
    	[aTitle release];

}

iPhone? More like MyPhone
    Thanks

Default Nice
    This look interesting, I also am totally unfamiliar with Apple products, more so than yourself but I can appreciate that this could be useful.

Do you have any suggestions as to proposed applications andh ow we would run this exactly?

I'm not sure I understand entirely what this is but if I understand right it's similar to the little blue dialogues that pop up on the iPhone with messages and warning about lack of net connection or no service/invalid sim and all that?