Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: FTP Almost Done Right for iPad with Codosaurus

Owner / Founder - ModMyi
    aka poetic_folly
    Thanks
    Thanked 4,805 Times in 1,226 Posts

Default FTP Almost Done Right for iPad with Codosaurus

I got an email with a promo code a couple days ago from Konstantin Schmoll, developer of an iPad FTP app called Codosaurus ($5.99 in the App Store). I've been checking it out the past couple days. Schmoll almost has it right, with some big updates needed before this is the perfect iPad FTP app.

I've been a web admin for over a decade (my first site was a Warcraft - no numbers, just Warcraft - fan site which was fully awesome in it's animated gif's and background midi, took 3 minutes to load, and was probably hosted on GeoCities). The iPhone and iPad have obviously been huge advancements in mobile computing, but I've struggled to find a good app or suite of apps for webmasterdom. Actually, I'll write another article soon with my favorites for Being an iPad Webmaster. For now let's look at Codosaurus.

My favorite OS X site editing tool is Coda, by the guys at Panic. Their slogan is "shockingly good Mac software," which they live up to. Codosaurus has taken a page from their book in its simplicity and design. Opening the app for the first time invites you to "enjoy the world of saurus" and pick a password which will protect your FTP sites' logins from prying fingers and iPad borrowers.

You're then greeted with a well laid out page which will become a grid of your FTP bookmarks and favorites. You can also change the color scheme in the Settings.app, multiple colors are offered. BTW - the little buffalo-looking Triceratops guy opens their website in Safari... tricked me the first time. Connecting to a server is easy, simply tap "CONNECT TO A SERVER" and fill out the necessary info.