Results 1 to 6 of 6

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Erase All Content and Settings

  1. #1
    Default Erase All Content and Settings
    I've got a JB iPad 2 on 5.0.1.
    I sold it online and want to clear all my information.
    If I restore straight from the iPad through "Erase all contents and settings", will that do it or will it screw something up for me?
    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Superbad Modder-ator Simon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bermuda
    Posts
    46,790
    Thanks
    7,002
    Thanked 15,563 Times in 7,113 Posts

    It will cause it to need to be restored. You will lose the jailbreak and be forced to 5.1.

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Simon For This Useful Post:

    Pauloch (03-13-2012), Rinki Garg (03-19-2012)

  4. #3
    Then I'll erase every single app and data.
    Thanks for the heads up.

  5. #4

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Simon View Post
    It will cause it to need to be restored. You will lose the jailbreak and be forced to 5.1.
    Is there any other way around this?

    My situation: I made this mistake, had 5.0.1 jailbroken with Absinthe, then hit Erase All Content and Settings. Absinthe says it's still jailbroken, but the Cydia app froze and wouldn't open, so I deleted Cydia using iFunBox while trying a few things, still nothing.

    As you said, I had already figured it's now impossible for me to have 5.0.1 JB on my iPad 2, but I wanted to make sure I exhausted all options before restoring to 5.1. Any other possibilities? Thanks in advance.

  7. #6
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    No way around gonna need to restore

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •