Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: TIP: IPAD Untethered Jailbreak 4.2.1 on Windows7 (Experimental)

Default TIP: IPAD Untethered Jailbreak 4.2.1 on Windows7 (Experimental)
    First of all I am not a developer/hacker, just a curious guy with some it background. Just couple of minutes ago I found a method to make an untethered jailbreak for windows 7 users (by chance)

That is why DevTeam is a great organization and has very talented developers it is really good idea to wait for their solution and FINAL release of the Redsn0w 0.9.7.

Please don't forget my method is only an experimental trick and it has no quarentee that it will work in every device without a problem. Never try it if you have valuable information on your device.
    I have the following files/configuration/device

- iPad1,1_4.2.1_8C148_Restore.ipsw (original IPAD 4.2.1 firmware)
    - iPad1,1_4.2_8C5115c_Restore.ipsw (4.2 b3 )
    - redsn0w_win_0.9.6b4
    - redsn0w_mac_0.9.7b6
    - Wmware workstation 7.1.2 build-301548
    - A Windows 7 Enterprise System with Q6600 and 8Gb RAM
    - VM Image - Hackintosh 10.6.6
    - a tethered jailbroken Ipad 3G 32 GB 4.2.1

First I planned to run the untethered jailbreak method for MAC on the Vmware (on hackintosh image)...but the process stucked on second stage every time (waiting for reboot stage)

...so I discover the trick below:

1- Run redsn0w_mac_0.9.7b6 on your Hackintosh VM, and follow the instructions. first you will show the original image (iPad1,1_4.2.1_8C148_Restore.ipsw)- then sellect jailbreak monte - then show the beta firmware (iPad1,1_4.2_8C5115c_Restore.ipsw (4.2 b3 ). System will be locked in white Apple screen and never rebooted for the second stage as I explained in the beginning of the topic.

SOLUTION:

Run redsn0w_win_0.9.6b4 on host system (Windows 7), and follow the Just boot tethered steps. when Ipad is rebooting cancel the windows redsnow and go back to your hackintosh VM.

Presto !!!!