+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help With Precision Soldering

is a discussion within the

Hardware

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Anyone out there that can give my some advice with soldering? Basically I have a problem with an iPhone I bought. When switching from the back camera to the front
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    Default Help With Precision Soldering
    Anyone out there that can give my some advice with soldering?

Basically I have a problem with an iPhone I bought. When switching from the back camera to the front the virtual shutter becomes stuck. This is because a tiny component had become dislodged. I tried making a bridge using a circuit pen to no avail.

Apparently the solution is to solder a wire between the two points shown in the picture. Would I have to remove the existing component before soldering the wire on?

Soldering Front Camera.jpg

As you can tell i'm new to this! I have a practice board to try out on before attempting the real thing. Any other tips before I screw this up?

Cheers

Thanks

I am not the alpha geek, but i need to understand what you are trying to do here.
    You want to place a jumper wire between the two points, right?
    Assuming this is correct, yes, remove (and save) components BEFORE soldering. Please do NOT attempt with anything larger than a 1mm tip, well cleaned.
    Do NOT add flux paste to clean the area, as t will pit the motherboard in places that you do not want holes. (Guess how i know?)
    Please explain which components you are talking about removing. I am a little lost there. Picture please.
    I can help a little, and share my bad experiences, but i need to know exactly what you are trying to do before i lead you into temptation.
    unklbyl

3. The Following User Says Thank You to unklbyl For This Useful Post:

LukeB1990 (03-24-2013)

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    Hi unklybl, thanks for replying.