Hi, I'm not that technical; been trying to figure this out for hours; any help given, please write for a beginner. i learned some of these words today.

I have an iphone 3g that is both jailbroken and unlocked (my software friend did it on his computer, so I do not have any jailbreaking files on my MacBook). He put iOS 4.2.1 on it, and I've been using it for about a year. I have since updated the itunes on my computer a few times (it's now at 10.5, not 10.5.1), since he said that was okay to do. I last backed up to itunes about 5 days ago, and am okay with losing whatever happened in the last 5 days.

My battery sucked lately, lasting only a few hours. Then a week ago it would show battery charge but then suddenly shut itself off (spinning circle). I'd turn it back on; sometimes only turned back on while plugged in. Do I need a new battery?

A few days ago I opened Cydia on my iphone for the first time. It then updated itself with a bunch of stuff. Then a few apps would crash and the phone would restart. I figured out and deleted various Cydia updates. The phone stopped crashing.

Today, while I was talking on the phone, the phone shut off and will not go back on. It tried a few times, cycling from the apple icon to the dead battery icon, but now it just has a battery icon w/ a little red on the left of it and a lightning bolt below it. If I unplug it from power for 4 seconds it goes black. My itunes will not recognize the device. I researched a lot, and then put it into DFU mode, and then itunes did recognize the device!... but then itunes said it would download the latest version of itunes (10.5.1). I got scared since i'm not really sure what I'm doing and cancelled the restore. I took it out of DFU mode.