+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Replaced Home Button - Now No Service

is a discussion within the

Hardware

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
OK, first off, I have been searching for a fix for this for some time now and haven't found anything that works so far. I tried to to my best
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Replaced Home Button - Now No Service
    OK, first off, I have been searching for a fix for this for some time now and haven't found anything that works so far. I tried to to my best to search before opening a new post so either I didn't search right or its really not out there.

Here's my issue:

I have an iPhone 3G FW 3.1.2 unlocked using ultrasn0w. I have been using this phone for several months and had no issues until recently. My home button went bad so I separated the glass and replaced it. After replacing the home button, my signal strength went down to almost nothing and would only work well when I was close to a tower. Now I can't get a signal at all. Doesnt matter 3G or EDGE, no service. Here's what I have done so far:

Restored multiple times
    Re-unlocked and jailbroke multiple times
    Tried using blackra1n instead of ultrasn0w
    Tried restoring in restore mode and DFU mode
    Cleaned main board and all connectors
    Reseated mainboard and all connectors multiple times
    Repositioned little gold "tooth" near the bottom of the phone
    Reset network settings
    Reset all settings
    Replaced my SIM card
    toggled airplane mode on and off
    Cried like a little girl
    Prayed that it would just start working again

Nothing worked. I am assuming that something happened when I replaced the home button. I am very mechanically inclined and was extremely careful when I did the repair. It would be a huge coincidence if my phone pooped out the day after I repaired it. Everything else on the phone works perfectly besides the phone itself.