Results 1 to 12 of 12

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Viewing and deleting old jailbreak tweak settings files.

  1. #1
    Default Viewing and deleting old jailbreak tweak settings files.
    Hi All,

    I was last jailbroken on 6.1.x on my iPhone 4S. I upgraded to an iPhone 5, and used my iTunes backup (which was made when I was jailbroken) to restore my settings to my new phone.

    Are my old jailbroken settings/preferences still present in the backup on my non-jailbroken device?

    If so, how do I view and delete these after jailbreaking on 7.0.4?

  2. #2
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,053
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    Jailbroken files are saved in at account threw Cydia. We'll the ones ya bought. All free ones will be lost unless ya used something in Cydia like apt backup or something like that. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Thanks.

    I understand Cydia will remember my purchased packages.

    What I mean is, when I had those packages installed, I made a backup to iTunes. I then used that iTunes backup to restore another phone.

    Will the settings files still be there for the packages I had installed? Or will there be no trace of a jailbreak whatsoever?

    If those files are there, how can I find them, and delete them, as they're no longer wanted.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Super Duper Moderator blkcadi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
     Valley of the Sun, ARIZONA ♥♥♥
    Posts
    31,188
    Thanks
    3,922
    Thanked 10,188 Times in 6,204 Posts

    ^ Should always set iPhone up as new, not from a backup. Restore will remove everything. Purchased Cydia packages re-installed will not have any old settings saved.

  5. #5
    Thanks.

    So just to confirm, I will have no old settings files from previous cydia packages? (If I will, I want to remove them to 'clean up' my phone.)

    Why do you say I should always setup phone as new? I did not jailbreak the new phone, and needed to get my content back on.

    Do you mean that when I jailbreak a phone, I should always do it as a new phone and not use a backup? If I do that, how do I get my information back on?

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Super Duper Moderator blkcadi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
     Valley of the Sun, ARIZONA ♥♥♥
    Posts
    31,188
    Thanks
    3,922
    Thanked 10,188 Times in 6,204 Posts

    Sync you data back from iTunes or iCloud, however you save it.
    It is always recommended to restore as new, not from a back up.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to blkcadi For This Useful Post:

    King_O_Hill (12-23-2013)

  8. #7
    Yes, especially if you are using a backup from an older version of iOS.

    Check out WW2 for iOS 8 - Widget-Weather 2.0

  9. #8
    Thanks.

    So just to confirm, I will not have any old settings files for any packages on the phone?
    Last edited by metallynx; 12-23-2013 at 06:20 AM.

  10. #9
    Super Duper Moderator blkcadi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
     Valley of the Sun, ARIZONA ♥♥♥
    Posts
    31,188
    Thanks
    3,922
    Thanked 10,188 Times in 6,204 Posts

    ^Nope.

  11. #10
    Really appreciate your help, thank you.

    I'm going to do a setup as a new phone now, just need to try and remember what will need restoring manually afterwards!

  12. #11
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,053
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    It's always fun to restore as new. Clean phone and well just seems like phone is new again lol

  13. #12
    Give a reboot or 2 after fresh restore!

    Check out WW2 for iOS 8 - Widget-Weather 2.0

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •