Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3gs 4.3.3 jailbroken to newest jailbreak for a noob

Default 3gs 4.3.3 jailbroken to newest jailbreak for a noob
    I'm sorry if this has already been asked but Im having trouble finding the correct method as im new to most of the terminology used. i have my first iphone which is a 3gs running 4.3.3 and was already jailbroken when i got it. can anybody tell me whats the newest os i can have whilst still being jailbroken and where do i start please. p.s i should also note that im not interested in saving any data

Thanks

Okay, two questions for you before we begin:

1) What SHSH blobs do you have saved for your phone? You can check Cydia's stash for your device by going to the "TSS Center" on the front page of Cydia. However, I have to warn you: unless you manually saved your SHSH blobs using a program like iFaith or redsn0w, any blobs you have saved for any 6.x version of iOS are probably invalid and unusable.
    2) Does your device have the "old" or "new" bootrom? If you don't know offhand, there's a quick-and-dirty check that resolves most scenarios: look at the first five characters of your phone's serial number. If it falls within the range of **920... - **945..., then the odds are very good that you have an old-bootrom device. Anything else, you probably have a new-bootrom device.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Orby For This Useful Post:

Killfrenzy (06-29-2013)

thanks for the reply orby ok looking on tss i have "shsh: ios 4.0, 4.0.1, 4.0.2, 4.1, 4.2.1r1, 4.3.3, 6.1.3" i dont know about manually saving i guess they appeared there just by loading the cydia app apart from 6.1.3 which i clicked on something yesterday in the tss centre for it to appear.
    the serial number in settings/general/about is **012****** so i guess not but i seem to recall something indicating an old bootrom
    im probably wrong but ill tell you my model number if it makes a difference MC133B.