+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: help upgrading iphone 3G to 4.2.1

is a discussion within the

General

forums, a part of the

Jailbreak / Downgrading / Upgrading

section;
Hey there I am new to all of this, being mostly an Android user. So I had some questions I just can't find the answers to. First of, I have
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default help upgrading iphone 3G to 4.2.1
    Hey there I am new to all of this, being mostly an Android user. So I had some questions I just can't find the answers to.

First of, I have a 3G (not 3gs) iphone, it was unlocked and JB by a third party, who did a half assed job. I had to read a bunch to get it to work correctly.

The Phone has Cydia and Ultrasn0w, it is running IOS 4.1(8B117) and Firmware 06.15.00

I want to upgrade it to 4.2.1, just to have a bit more apps available. Can I upgrade the IOS without screwing up the JB and Unlock? or would I have to redo these?? as I mentioned I didn't originally do it, and have never done it before so would prefer not to.

I downloaded the file iPhone1,2_4.2.1_8C148_Restore from the downloads sections, the description says iOS 4.2.1 for 3G so I guess it is what I need. Now how is this installed? and again will it mess up the JB and Unlock?

Also is there a way to know which jailbreak was used on the phone?

and lastly, now that the phone is unlocked is it possible to see the unlock code used by Ultrasn0w just in case I need it again?

Thanks, looking forward to your replies.

Ed.

Thanks

That file from the downloads is a great starting point. Grab redsn0w 0.9.15b3 for OS X or Windows here. Open redsn0w, navigate to Extras -> Custom IPSW and point redsn0w to the IPSW file you just downloaded earlier. Redsn0w will work its magic, once it's done, go to redsn0w's Extras -> Even More -> Restore, using your custom IPSW redsn0w just built.