+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Help, trying to upgrade firmware from 3.1.2 to ios 4.0.1 and above

is a discussion within the

General

forums, a part of the

Jailbreak / Downgrading / Upgrading

section;
Hi All, I am quite new to this so please bear with me. I have an iPhone 3GS with version 3.1.2 (7D11) modem firmware 05.11.07 which has been jailbroken with
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Help, trying to upgrade firmware from 3.1.2 to ios 4.0.1 and above
    Hi All,

I am quite new to this so please bear with me. I have an iPhone 3GS with version 3.1.2 (7D11) modem firmware 05.11.07 which has been jailbroken with Blackra1n (everytime my phone runs out of battery or switches off i have to run Blackra1n to continue to use my phone). As this OS is old now I would like to update to 4.0.1 and above if possible. After looking for several hours on the internet and trying several methods I have been unsuccessful in doing this.

I have tried to update my phone to 4.0.1 with iTunes (trying to update my firmware by keeping hold of shift and selecting a downloaded 4.0.1 ipsw file) and tried to use redsnow to update the firmware with no luck. I have also tried to remove the Blackra1n jailbreak as well with no luck.

Another issue i have as well is that my Cydia crashes when loading data, so i am unable to get into Cydia as well. I tried to use iFile to fix the Cydia issue but that also crashes as well and i subsequently removed the app of my phone.

After looking through several websites I came across this forum in the hope that someone can give me a step by step guide (a dummys guide if possible ) to update from 3.1.2 to the ios 4 and above.

Any help would be much appreciated, and thanks in advance.

Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts