Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Cant Downgrade

Default Cant Downgrade
    hi guys

im new to jailbreaking iPhones and im looking at trying to jailbreak my iPhone 3gs

i looked up a tut and it is telling me to downgrade back to 3.0 firmware and i am currently on firmware 5.0. when i try to restore it back to the 3.0 firmware, it gives me that 3194 error or whever it is,

anyways, i looked up the way around it and it says i need my SHSH files, but i dont have them, is there any otherway to downgrade without them?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

You don't need to downgrade to 3.0 at all. You can jb it on whatever fw it's on. If you don't mind a tethered/semi-tethered jb.

Or you can downgrade to 4.1 without SHSHs and have an untethered jb. It's up to you.

Oh ok, which program do I use to jailbreak it tho? I used that redsnow or whatever it is an it kept not responding as it got to the part where it starts jail breaking, I was assuming it was because my firmware wasn't downgraded to 3.0, how do I jailbreak when it is on 5.0?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,753 Times in 2,643 Posts

redsnow 0.9.9b7 at 5.0

Thanks

Just remember, you should install the Semi-Tether tweak in Cydia so if your phone dies or reboots, you still have basic phone function. Then whenever you can, boot tethered with redsn0w on your computer so your phone can regain jailbreak apps/tweaks/functionality.

ok, but when i try to jailbreak it with redsnow, it asks to locate my IPSW for the current firmware, n i dont know what that is, i donwnloaded something from a tutorial that told me to use that, but when i do, it gets to the part where it says jailbreaking in progress or something like that, then redsnow stops responding and it tells me to close it, so what file am i supposed to direct it to for it to work?

Thanks

Don't you have the latest version of redsn0w? It automatically finds the ipsw for you.

Thanks