+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: 3G still on 4.0 - update help

is a discussion within the

General

forums, a part of the

Jailbreak / Downgrading / Upgrading

section;
Hi, I'm a new user on here but have been checking out this site for Apple news... I have an iPhone 3G, still on 4.0, unlocked on T-Mobile. (I was
    Green Apple
    Thanks

Question 3G still on 4.0 - update help
    Hi, I'm a new user on here but have been checking out this site for Apple news...
    I have an iPhone 3G, still on 4.0, unlocked on T-Mobile. (I was too scared to update and loose the unlock or have something go wrong...) and on Windows.
    4.0 is very slow and have been reluctant to updating and possibly messing up my phone and sim unlock with Ultrasn0w.
    1) Should I rather upgrade to a newer firmware that is a little faster for my 3G or go back? What do you suggest, and what process and programs should I use? (I have some experience with jailbreaking and unlocking process, but I need to be sure)
    2) How can I just restore my phone but keep the unlock or re-unlock? I heard restoring 3G on 4.0 helps speed a little.
    Thanks!

Thanks
    Thanked 2,202 Times in 1,924 Posts

Create a custom firmware with Sn0wbreeze 2.0.2 (not 2.1, that's no good for the iPhone 3G)

Download a stock 4.1 ipsw and create your custom fw with Sn0wbreeze. Go into expert mode, if you do not have an official carrier's SIM to unlock and select "activate". Do not select wallpaper and multitask as that's what causes the major slowdown on your device. If you have an official SIM, don't select activate either.

Shift+restore to the custom fw you made.

After, you'll be able to access your springboard if you chose activate in Sn0wbreeze. If you did not choose activate, pop your SIM in and activate in iTunes then. Then you can access Cydia on the springboard. Install Ultrasn0w as normal to unlock again.