+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: unactivated 2g iphone use

is a discussion within the

General

forums, a part of the

Jailbreak / Downgrading / Upgrading

section;
First off I am not a noob. I like to call myself... inexperienced in the iphone world. I have modded many things in my day but i'm new to iphones.
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default unactivated 2g iphone use
    First off I am not a noob. I like to call myself... inexperienced in the iphone world. I have modded many things in my day but i'm new to iphones.

Anyways here is my situation.....

I have a brand new 1.1.4 4GB 1st gen. iphone that is unactivated. I have read and read tons of forums that past week and pretty much know what I want to do but would just like a few opinions from people who have done this stuff before.
    As of right NOW... I don't want to use my iphone as a phone. I just want to use it for it's wi-fi and ipod capibilities and things of that nature. I will probably end up using it as my phone later down the road but not now.

I want to jailbreak the phone for sure so I can use the installer.app and cydia as well as the apple applications. But I guess here are my main questions.

1.) Do I need to unlock the phone?
    2.) Do I need to activate the phone?
    3.) What firmware is best for what I want to do? Do I stick to 1.1.4 or do I want to upgrade to the newest 2.0.2 and what would the main differences be between which firmware to choose?

So if anyone has an suggestions that would be awesome and I would greatly appreciate it!!! Thanks a lot.

p.s. Just a side note.... The iphone came from at&t. My bro in law broke his old iphone so he went to upgrade to a 3G iphone but found out his old iphone was under warranty so at&t gave him a brand new 2g iphone with his 3g that he bought that day and gave me the 2g which has been sitting at my house for awhile now. Story time over.

Livin the iPhone Life sziklassy's Avatar