Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Need a "beginner forum" please!

Hi there-

I am new to this whole thing, and ran Absinthe 2.0 to jailbreak my iphone 4 last night. I have been poking around online all day long, installing things I find interesting and it's been....it's just been okay so far. The problem is that I don't speak "computer." I'm pretty much like this with it

So I found a theme I thought I loved and I've been trying so hard to get it to work all day long and just cannot figure it out. There doesn't seem to be much information that I can find for a step-by-step beginner's guide to anything. I have found (watched, and read) several tutorials on how to install winterboard (check), find and install a theme (check, check) and apply the settings (check.) However the one that I chose didn't work (Visio HD) and it doesn't look anything like the picture of the theme.

So I purchased and installed Gridlock (no change), FolderEnhancer (nope), and Iconoclasm (nope) and the 5X6 Iconoclasm layout. Nothing is working and I'm incredibly frustrated. I'd love to make/find a basic layout similar to the one above and be able to insert my own wallpaper. I feel like I'm close but just have no idea what I'm doing, nor am I able to decipher the tech-posts about how to do some of these things.

Please help? Is there a beginner forum on here somewhere? Is anyone bored and willing to walk me through it? I'm not stupid, I just have zero experience with this. I know what I want, I just can't seem to make it actually work! Thanks!!

Oh and before anyone asks, I did a few searches, but maybe the problem is that I'm not sure exactly what I'm searching for.

Thanks
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

Do you have pictures of what ya have so far? And what us trying to git it to look like?

Thanks
    Thanked 9,883 Times in 6,040 Posts

Welcome to MMi.

First off a few questions. What type of iPhone, what firmware and what theme????