Results 1 to 10 of 10

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: Unfortunate downgrading of iPhone 4s to 3G by syncing it with iTunes

  1. #1
    Unhappy Unfortunate downgrading of iPhone 4s to 3G by syncing it with iTunes
    With a new iPhone 4s (my sisters) I inadvertently downgraded it to iPhone 3G by syncing it to iTunes on her laptop not realising that this iTunes account which was still connected to her former 3GiPhone would affect the actual iPhone. I was putting some Apps on her new iPhone
    All of the iPhone 4s features are gone and her phone is now the old 3G one. She is not v happy with me as you can imagine....
    How to we restore it to the 4s version - by pressing 'Reset network Settings'? Is all of her former iPhone 4s information retrievable or is it gone forever? She is most anxious to get back all of her 'diary' details and of course her contacts and recent messages.
    Your help/advice would be greatly appreciated. This is my 1st visit to this site. Thank you.

  2. #2
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    Did y'all make a back up on iTunes? If so just restore it back to that backup.

  3. #3
    I dont understand what u r askin me? I'm afraid. I asked iTunes to synch with the connected iPhone 4s-it seemed to recognise it as but when the sync was over it was no longer the 4s version

    I dont know How a backup differ from a sync
    Last edited by Bernadette; 03-21-2012 at 09:18 PM.

  4. #4
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    Plug ya phone in right click in iTunes when ya phone connects to it and hit restore from back up.

  5. #5
    Illl tell my sister to do that tomorrow, thanking . Hhowever As de new iPhone was never registered to iTines how will ihave its information/data on it!

  6. #6
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    Ah so y'all never sync it with iTunes since ya bought it? That's not good. Probally will have to restore phone to new then.

  7. #7
    How do I do that - by prrssingo 'reset network settings' on iphone?

  8. #8
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    No dont do that right click on phone when it connect and hit restore and it will come up with it.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Bernadette View Post
    I dont understand what u r askin me? I'm afraid. I asked iTunes to synch with the connected iPhone 4s-it seemed to recognise it as but when the sync was over it was no longer the 4s version

    I dont know How a backup differ from a sync
    Sounds like you restored from a back up of an older iphone. This shouldn't have affected any of the new features on the iPhone 4s (ie siri FaceTime etc) as the other poster said do a restore to factory settings or restore the firmware via iTunes

  10. #10
    Sug Luv Super Moderator 2k1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Hammond Louisiana
    Posts
    34,059
    Thanks
    1,815
    Thanked 7,065 Times in 4,206 Posts

    Let us know how it goes.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •