So, I ran into an issue in regards to the "Other" space that takes up way too much room on my iOS device preventing me from using my valuable storage.

After reading tutorial after tutorial, as well as how too's and quick fixes... I was finally able to piece together what exactly was going on here as well as how to fix it (well more or less).

First off, I am not a developer or programmer or anything like that... Just a modder and tweaker. This is simply my interpretation and observation and attempt to offer a viable explanation as to what is going on. In all my scratching about on the internets, I've not really been able to find an explanation that I found to be satisfactory, or a solution to easily fix this problem. Hopefully some smart dev picks up on this and can add too it.

So, here goes:

Why do I have "X" amount of "other" storage showing up in iTunes?

Couple of reasons. One of which is that when you use apps that function as storage containers for data to be used in that app (I.E. PDF Readers, USB Drives, Comic Book Readers, Third Party Video Players, Emails, ETC.) that data shows up in iTunes as "Other" because it's not technically officially something that iTunes thinks that you ought have there. It's data and iTunes doesn't care.

Simple solution is to delete the data from the app. I once had an 800mb AVI file that I was transporting from desktop to desktop that I had forgotten about stored locally on my iPhone that was eating up space. Simple opening of the "Net Portal" app and a swip took care of that.

Also, don't forget to empty things like your trash bin from your emails, as well as all caches and cookies from safari and the typical things that you would do on a desktop. It's a few megs here and there, but it adds up after a while.

Now every so often, these apps don't delete data properly and in that particular case deleting the app, re-syncing, re-installing the app, re-syncing fixes the issue.

But what if that doesn't work either?