Results 1 to 9 of 9

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.


Thread: what does it mean when "apple stops signing"

  1. #1
    Default what does it mean when "apple stops signing"
    i see it all over the place but i don't know what it means and cannot find a post giving a good explanation of it.

  2. #2
    Not news so moved to better place.

    3GS and iPhone 4 need to have the firmware signed to install. So in order to downgrade you have to get the firmware signed. But Apple is fighting this by stopp signing a firmware when a new one is released. Example is today: 4.0.1 is released so they are going to stop signing 4.0. Meaning that you can't go back to 4.0 if you go to 4.0.1 on a 3GS or iPhone 4.

  3. #3
    thanks for moving...i am still not following on what it means by signing...

  4. #4
    The hardware on the 3GS and iPhone 4 need "keys" to install any firmware. That is what is being signed. Apple is giving the current firmware the "keys" to access the hardware to install. But older firmware cannot get said "keys" because Apple stopped "handing" those out for that firmware.

  5. #5
    you nailed it...i now get it...i used to mod dish cards so makes sense now

  6. #6
    plain jane vanilla (post count restored to FULL AWESOMENESS) cpjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    11,685
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 1,461 Times in 1,264 Posts

    To be literal, Apple has to say "ok" to any firmware install on your phone, if their servers dont say ok, it wont install.

    When they stop signing the firmware....it means they stop saying ok.

  7. #7
    so if you do the umbrella backup the "ok" is stored in the backup?

  8. #8
    plain jane vanilla (post count restored to FULL AWESOMENESS) cpjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ATL
    Posts
    11,685
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 1,461 Times in 1,264 Posts

    ^Well, basically. You can make itunes check Saurik's server and get the "ok" instead of checking Apples. But yeah, the server needs your backup files.

  9. #9
    Yep, after you redirect you host file to saurik's site.


    So then that way itunes when it checks for the "ok" it will be directed at saurik's server instead and his sends back the "ok" for it if you have that firmware version blob (shsh) stored.

Posting Permissions
  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •