+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: New to IPhone

is a discussion within the

General iPhone Chat

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
1st off all Im very new to IPhone, i have recently purchased an IPhone 3gs os 3.1.3 i dont understand what springboard or winterboard are or what the difference is,
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks
    Question New to IPhone
    1st off all Im very new to IPhone, i have recently purchased an IPhone 3gs os 3.1.3

i dont understand what springboard or winterboard are or what the difference is, can someone please briefly explain to me or point me to a guide explaining. How easy is it to get spingboard or winterboard on the iphone 3GS 3.1.3

also i would like to know if i can install iconaoclasm on my iphone OS 3.1.3? if so how do i do it.

Thanks

2. The Following User Says Thank You to wakhtar For This Useful Post:

area51crypto (06-11-2010)

Livin the iPhone Life screamforme02's Avatar
    Thanks

you need to do research. but springboard is the main screen with all your icons and apps on it, and winterboard skins the springboard and all sorts of other parts of the device. good luck and welcome to the wonderfull workd of iphone
    Hey! A Restore Never Hurts It's True!

Livin the iPhone Life CaptainChaos's Avatar
    Thanks

As has been posted...your springboard is like your desktop on your computer. It hosts your app icons and themes. I don't know anything about iconoclasm though.

The steps to get Winterboard are these:
    1. Download Spirit(it is a jailbreak). If you have a Mac download the Mac version and if you have Windows download the Windows version from here: Spirit
    2. With your phone plugged in via your USB cable launch Spirit. It will jailbreak your phone. If Spirit acts like it doesn't want to work you simply run it in 95 Compatibility Mode(right click the Spirit icon, select Properties, then change the Compatibility Mode to Windows 95).