Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Multiple iPhone Issues

Default Multiple iPhone Issues
    Hello,

Let me start by saying I am a tech guy so I am pretty confident I am doing things they way I am supposed to, searched all forums, and cannot find a proper solution.

History: A cousin of mine gave me her iPhone, it wouldn't work for her. I think her son drooled on it a bit. It wouldn't come on or do anything. I left it sit for like a year. When I turned it on the other day, it was at the iTunes/USB sync screen. I plugged the iPhone into the PC and iTunes had the message about an iPhone being in recovery mode. I tried to recover but always got an error message. I tried to do DFU mode but couldn't ever get it to go into the mode. I finally took it apart and disconnected the motherboard from the batter. Then when I booted it up, the phone came on perfectly. She said I could keep it so I went about deleting all her information and contacts. I searched the internet for the best way to delete all her info on it so I could start using it. The best suggestion was to do a Settings->General->Erase All Content and Settings. I did this, took about an hour and the phone rebooted and now it is on the screen for slide for emergency/ iTunes Sync. And this is where it still sits.

I cannot get past this point. I have tried everything I can find on the internet to do. I found all kinds of forums of people with the exact issue but never found resolutions. Just so people don't suggest the same thing over and over, here are the steps I have followed so far.

1. Hold various buttons while plugging in the phone with and without iTunes running on Windows XP, Windows Vista, and a Mac.