+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Crash after Cydia "update"

is a discussion within the

General iPhone Chat

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
first off the basics: About a week ago I logged on to Cydia and it told me that I needed to upgrade some things (the little black window that pops
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Crash after Cydia "update"
    first off the basics:

About a week ago I logged on to Cydia and it told me that I needed to upgrade some things (the little black window that pops up) or some things may not work. The very first time I saw this (shortly after Jailbreaking the phone) I clicked "essential updates only" 'cuse I was just wanting to get it running (and turn off EDGE as fast as I could). BUT! This time I thought "why not" and clicked the "all updates" (or whatever it said) it listed somethings off on the Confirm page. Since I'm a relative Newb I don't know if anything on the list was bad or not, so I clicked install.

The install worked just fine, and the phone functioned normally. However. I noticed, rather quickly, that I could only wake the phone using the Top Button (sleep/wake/power) and when it did wake up it showed the little apple icon that it displays when it starts up. I thought "this is odd", but let it do it's thing. It started up, and I even got a text off, but again when I put it to sleep, or it idled out, when I went to wake it, lo and behold it was starting up again. Eventually it got to the point where it wouldn't get past the apple icon. I had to DFA/Restore/Re-Jailbreak it to get it back.

So my question is, has anyone else experienced this situation? It makes me hesitant to update anything through Cydia that isn't just an app. Did I somehow download and install an update that wasn't compatible with my phone?

here's my specs for refrence:
    iPhone: 2g 4gb
    Jailbreak: Redsn0w
    Version: 3.0.1 (then and now)