Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: A few noob questions...

Question A few noob questions...
    Hello everyone. I'm a noob here. I'm not really a noob at modding, I've been modding various Motorolas for the past few years with the help of ModMyMoto.com

However... I'm new to iPhone.

My question is that, I have a 1st Gen 4GB iPhone that has been Jailbroken and unlocked. It has 1.1.4 firmware. Is it possible to update to the 2.0.2 firmware?

If so... would I still be using Installer or would I be able to get the ApStore? Or both?

Thanks

Yes it is possible to upgrade to 2.02. You'd need to jailbreak via pwnage/winpwn/quickpwn to gain access to installer and cydia. You would have access to the app store as well.

Installer is currently unbearably buggy. You would be using Cydia (it's like installer) for all 3rd party apps not accepted by apple, and the app store for applications that apple deems okay.

Unlock/jailbreak Guide for windows
    Unlock/jailbreak Guide for mac
    Last edited by 461am; 09-08-2008 at 11:39 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to 461am For This Useful Post:

unfaced (09-10-2008)

Okay. So I'm new to iPhone modding. Explain what I need to do? I know my phone is already Jailbroken. Does that mean I'd have to do it again?

Thanks

Yes, you would have to do it again. My advice to you is to restore via itunes to a clean version of 2.0.2, and then follow one of the two guides, depending on whether you're on a mac or on windows.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to 461am For This Useful Post:

unfaced (09-10-2008)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,180 Times in 730 Posts

Pwnage 2.0 Guide - ModMyI - Wiki

We have guides on this site.
    Screw #Winning, I'm #Juanning
    iMac 27" i5 quad 2.8Ghz (1TB), MacBook Pro 17" 2.6, iPhone 4s

By restoring to a clean version of 2.0.2 and redoing everything, would I lose all my info, pictures, apps, phonebook, etc...?

Quote Originally Posted by one1 View Post