+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Connecting to School Hot-Spot

is a discussion within the

General iPhone Chat

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Let me start by saying that I am being a total noob right now. Maybe I'm out of practice, or maybe just tired from vet med classes... anyway here is
    Livin the iPhone Life sziklassy's Avatar
    Thanks

Default Connecting to School Hot-Spot
    Let me start by saying that I am being a total noob right now. Maybe I'm out of practice, or maybe just tired from vet med classes... anyway here is my question.

I am a student at Iowa State University. They have a hotspot every direction I look, so I wanted to connect. Upon first loading the internet, it requests me to login (fine, no problem). It then wants me to supply a host name. The default name it gives is iphone.student.iastate.edu After hitting enter it says that my computer did not supply a host name, but that I may choose one below, but no matter what I enter "it lets me enter up to 14 characters before ".student.iastate.edu" it doesn't work. I am thinking it wants a unique pc name, and someone already has the default "iPhone" registered. I am also thinking that it wants my iPhone to actually be named this. I also tried entering the name of my iPhone (Bela's iPhone) but that didn't work. This is the name I gave it in iTunes, not sure if its the same. I have connected to their network on my Vista laptop and my girlfriend's macbook, so it's not that multiple computers don't work. The IT dept. says up to 10 devices per student, and I am well under 10. Thanks in advance for the help!
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I once prayed to God for an iPhone, but quickly found out He didn't work that way...so I stole an iPhone and prayed for His forgiveness.