Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: How can I change my root password to secure my iphone from SSH Hacking?

Question How can I change my root password to secure my iphone from SSH Hacking?
    So,
    I am new to the tech world and I have been excited to learn new things with the iphone and how to mod it.
    I have a 1st gen iPhone that i Pwned w/ 2.0.1 Firmware
    I recently learned how to use ssh to try to delete "lockbackground.jpg" so that my lockscreen background would change.

My concern is this:

I noticed that its fairly easy to SSH into the iphone simply using the IP adress that is assigned to it since the password and login are the same Root/ Alpine.
    I am worried now that someone will try to SSH into my phone and try to retrieve info. Basically someone knows my ip address now and they are VERY familiar with SSH and I wouldnt put it past them to try to hack into my phone to try to retrieve whatever information they can obtain, SMS Phonebook, mail, etc.

I have a passcode lock on my phone so im not sure if that would help. I also know that most network connections freeze when the phone screen is locked, or so I think. Regardless, I feel the only way to protect myself would be to change my root password.

So tell me all you smarties... what the hell should I do or am I being paranoid.

Thanks

Guide: Short and Sweet SSH Guide for the iPhone
    On Mac, just type in "ssh root@IPADDRESS" without the quotes. Accept any authentication requests that pop up. Type in "dottie" as the password when prompted.

On Windows, enter in the IP Address into the "Host Name (or IP Address)" in putty and hit Open. Accept any authentication dialogues that pop up. Log in as "root" when prompted, with the password "dottie".

Changing your password: