Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Adding true GPS to iPhone 2G

Default Adding true GPS to iPhone 2G
    Version 1.1.4(4a102) 8G
    Modem Firmware 04.04.05_G
    System Windows Vista Ultimate

I just bought a GPS receiver n I am planning 2 hook it up 2 my iphone n turn the iphone into a GPS device. Is it do-able? ur insight will b grateful.

I'm not sure this would be possible. I remember a while back that someone created a gps module for the iPhone that worked pretty well with the google maps app. What receiver are you planning on using? If it is possible to attach it to the iPhone, an app would have to be written for it to function properly.
    Please hit the thanks button if I helped you out

Default help
    hi can any one tell me how to download anything to my iphone 16gb using windows 1.1.4 because i am new to all this and seem to be stuck. do i download to my pc or straight from my pc? any help would be grateful.

Quote Originally Posted by Wil'siphone View Post
    Version 1.1.4(4a102) 8G

I just bought a GPS receiver n I am planning 2 hook it up 2 my iphone n turn the iphone into a GPS device. Is it do-able? ur insight will b grateful.
    Yes you can connect a gps receiver to the iphone really easy. see here for more info: http://iphone-bugoga.blogspot.com/

Also do a search here on mmi, you will find threads started already on this. You can use Hike.app to see the info from the gps module and much more.
    Don't be shy if I helped you use the Thanks button, I do it.

It's a SIRF III bluetooth GPS SysOn GPS Receiver. I am wondering if anybody has ever done it. I would wanna try as long as there's instruction. I am not good with this modding thing. Tks for all ur insights guys.
    Keep up the good work

It does work, if you check the above link I gave there are instructions. But you need to make a cable, otherwise you can not connect the gps to the phone.