Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: i'm totally screwed!

What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default i'm totally screwed!
    I had a perfectlly unlocked and working 1.02 version iPhone. I decided to upgrade it to the 1.1.1 thru this guide:

"Downgrade 1.0.2 baseband OS X iPhone

This will be in 4 sections. The first step is what we are on. Section 2 is Upgrading to 1.1.1, Section 3 will be Preparing the 1.1.1 iPhone for Modding/Unlocking, and last section is actually Unlocking the 1.1.1 iPhone."

I ran into problems in the Step 2 - Backup your seczone. (yes I am an amateur with this stuff).

Anyways, I had previously on step 1 dragged the virginize folders into usr/bin. It would then not let me back up my seczone. I was instructed to reinstall the BSD subsystem. I downloaded the installer app. and when I went to try that process, I lost all functions on the iPhone. I tried rebooting, etc. but could not click or do anything. The only way to get back in the game was to restore via Itunes. Which led me to brick the phone. : (

Now I am on square one with an unactivated phone. "Downgrade Baseband 1.1.1 to 1.0.2 OSX" http://modmyi.com/wiki/index.php/Dow...1_to_1.0.2_OSX

His second step says to download the apple restore file. However when I download this and follow his instructions, there is no _restore.ipsw file in that download. And I can not move on in the process without it.

Is there an easier softer way to get my phone re-activated and then get to my intended update of a working 1.1.1?

HELP!

Quote Originally Posted by lamofo View Post
    I had a perfectlly unlocked and working 1.02 version iPhone. I decided to upgrade it to the 1.1.1 thru this guide:
    [snip]
    I ran into problems in the Step 2 - Backup your seczone. (yes I am an amateur with this stuff).

Anyways, I had previously on step 1 dragged the virginize folders into usr/bin. It would then not let me back up my seczone.