+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Confused about "restoring" cydia packages from backup

is a discussion within the

File Mods

forums, a part of the

iPhone Modding

section;
Hi guys, I am new to jailbreaking/modding, although I searched and cannot find a good answer for this question. I have been using PkgBackup to backup my cydia packages. Something
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Confused about "restoring" cydia packages from backup
    Hi guys,

I am new to jailbreaking/modding, although I searched and cannot find a good answer for this question.

I have been using PkgBackup to backup my cydia packages. Something I don’t understand is: if I create a backup using PkgBackup, then I go and install some new packages from cydia, when I “restore” to my old backup, those new packages are still installed! Why is that? Since the original backup did not contain those packages, shouldn’t they go away when I restore my phone?
    Or, perhaps PkgBackup’s “restore” is different from what I have always understood “restore” to mean. (For example, when you “restore” to factory settings, all the new stuff is gone). Assuming PkgBackup is not able to “uninstall” packages, is there anyway to do what I just described above? My reason: I am sick of having to wipe my phone and re-jailbreak and re-install all my cydia packages every time I download an unstable package or a package that doesn’t work well with my other packages and causes problems. It would be nice if, when that happens I could simply return my phone back to having only the “nice”, necessary cydia packages (activator, sbsettings, winterboard, gridlock, etc.) which were installed when I first created backup.

Thanks for reading and I appreciate any help,

zach

Thanks
    Thanked 9,665 Times in 5,930 Posts