+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: A short story I'm working on...

is a discussion within the

Chit Chat

forums, a part of the

ModMyi

section;
If I were to choose any career just for the joy of it, it would be a writer. Unfortunately, that career path isn't as lucrative as others or nearly as
    "The Chuck Bass of Theming" k.nitsua's Avatar
    Thanks
    Thanked 19,214 Times in 2,596 Posts

Default A short story I'm working on...
    If I were to choose any career just for the joy of it, it would be a writer. Unfortunately, that career path isn't as lucrative as others or nearly as successful.

However, when I can find the time, I write. I just wanted to show an excerpt of a short story I've been working on for over 2 years called "More Tears Are Shed Over Answered Prayers Than Unanswered Ones" which is a quote from the novel In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. The short story has very little to do with that novel, but that quote has left a heavy print on myself.

Even those I said this short story has been 2 years in the work, it's not something I work on everyday (obviously). The story is done, and I touch on it here and there every once in awhile. I have another short story in the works that is looking more and more like it should become a novel; but I'm hoping to keep it as a short story.

Here's an excerpt from the story. A little bit of a background: the story is about a man stuck in his loft due to a violent storm that does not seem to go away. He has suffers from a mental illness. The actual mental illness is not mentioned in the story, but his medication is Abilify and he suffers from psychotic symptoms - in this case, paranoid delusions and hallucinations. The violent storm has left him trapped in the loft without medication as his prescription bottle is empty and needs a refill. He is reading a novel to keep his mind occupied of hallucinations he seems to be suffering when this occurs: