Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Application Not Compatible error msg

Default Application Not Compatible error msg
    "This application requires the Iphone 3.1.2 Software Update"

Running a jailbroken 3G on 3.0.1 and getting this error a lot on appstore apps. I'm not a developer so maybe its legit but it would seem that it would make sense to make most apps backwards compatible to cover the largest audience. The conspiracy theorist in me wonders if big brother (apple) is causing this to happen or forcing developers to code only for the latest release.

Of course they are.
    Just use Pwnage to upgrade to 3.12
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

Unfortunately I don't have a Mac and I prefer not to upgrade due to the reports of battery and other issues. Also, my phone is set-up exactly how I want - don't really feel like starting over. Thanks tho - none of the apps I wanted are deal breakers but just 'nice to haves...'

There is an app in cydia that allows you to change the reported FW - but I've forgotten what it's called!
    He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to confucious For This Useful Post:

wiltok (01-01-2010)

Just looked - it's called FW Changer. Thanks for the lead!

let me know how that works out, i installed it but it only gives me option fot FW 2.0 and not 3.1.2

After reading about so many people having problems with it - I decided to forget it. As this problem becomes more widespread, maybe someone will figure out another fix (besides FW changer).

As a follow-up to my own question, why is Apple so concerned about having everyone on the latest release. This approach is costing them revenue - it really doesn't make any sense.
    Last edited by wiltok; 01-02-2010 at 07:07 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost