+ Reply

Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Some basic things I'd like to be able to do. Please help?

is a discussion within the

3rd Party Apps Requests

forums, a part of the

3rd Party Apps For iPhone | iPod Touch

section;
Hi I'm a complete iphone noob. I have original iphone with 3.1.3, jailbroken. After a few days with the phone, there are some key things I'm trying to figure out
    What's Jailbreak?
    Thanks

Default Some basic things I'd like to be able to do. Please help?
    Hi I'm a complete iphone noob. I have original iphone with 3.1.3, jailbroken.

After a few days with the phone, there are some key things I'm trying to figure out how to do WITHOUT touching itunes (I run ubuntu 10.04 on my pc, so no itunes)

1. How can I load a graphic-intensive pdf file to my iphone and view it? Pdf files that I use are typically around 75mb, with some as large as 400mb. I just want to drag and drop pdf files onto my phone, and then easily locate/view them on my iphone. Can it be done?

2. How can I load movies onto my iphone and then watch them? I have heard about converting etc, and would like to avoid format conversions if possible (but will do if absolutely necessary). I have a USB app which allows me to drag and drop movies onto my iphone like a USB stick, but I don't know how to play those movies on my iphone. Again I'd like to be able to just drag and drop, not go through this 'syncing' business via some additional application.

3. How can I load music onto my iphone via drag and drop, such that it is easily accessible by a music player? It is annoying and cumbersome to 'sync' in a 3rd party program on my pc; I'd rather just drag and drop into a folder, as is standard with modern MP3 players.