Your favorite Apple, iPhone, iPad, iOS, Jailbreak, and Cydia site.

Thread: Apple ECID Formating and Methods?

Default Apple ECID Formating and Methods?
    I am by no means a computer expert and it is usually uncommon for me to post topics on forums but this new issue with apple signing ECID's for firmware upgrades has forced me to "come out of my shell." After spending 4-5+ hours researching ways to downgrade my new 3GS that I just got as a replacement due to factory defect.

The iPhone arrived with 3.1.3 OTB and also contained the new boot ROM which really isn't that surprising. From what I've read the only remote possibility of jailbreaking/downgrading this flavor of iPhone is by doing the technique where you downgrade your iTunes to 8.2 (or whichever low version) and trick it into proceeding with the firmware restore until of course when it tries to write to the new boot ROM and stalls out leaving you in a restore mode cycle which forces you to run iRecovery and reset the auto_boot variable leaving you with a makeshift restored iPhone. BUT, this method no longer works for some reason which I cannot understand.

If the majority of this method is done offline and the same method worked for the same firmware weeks ago, there shouldn't be any variable that could have changed to cause it not to work. Of course its going to be confusing when a majority of the posts here are hard to understand and have questionable legitimacy.

So what I've concluded is that apple has definitely adopted this new signing method and has gotten comfortable with it so it doesn't seem like it's going to be going anywhere soon. There have been other posts suggesting that the 128 bit HASH be cracked, (I'm not going to even act like I understand anything about encryption), but they all are shot down saying that it would take too many resources and is unpractical, but not impossible.