One of the many important parts of Apple's App Store is the ability to view screenshots of an application before you download it. Many of us take a look at the screenshots before downloading our applications, and if we like what we see, we will probably give the application a try.
Apple has sent out an E-mail to developers alerting them that beginning January 9th, they will not be able to change the screenshots displayed for their applications that have been approved in the App Store without releasing an update to the application or releasing a new application. The e-mail from Apple, via iClarified, reads:
Beginning January 9, app screenshots will be locked in iTunes Connect once your app has been approved. New screenshots may be uploaded when you submit a binary for an update to an existing app or a new app. For more information on capturing and using screenshots, read the Xcode User Guide.
It could be disastrous for developers, since any mistakes that might occur in the screenshots would remain until the developer pushes an update for the application. On the other hand, it could be better for the App Store users, since it can help fight the risk of scams that might advertise something completely different in the screenshots than what is actually being sold.